Who We Are

In the spirit of open dialogue and progressive solidarity, the Gillespie Memorial Community Breakfast stands as an independent, all voluntary, non-sectarian forum without any particular political or electoral party affiliation – to facilitate the free exchange of ideas and the participation in social change and advocacy for the betterment of New Orleans and the world.

Since our 1983 inception, scores of community, progressive, and social justice advocates have come together to break bread and make common cause at the Gillespie Memorial Community Breakfast. Almost 300 gatherings have been held, bringing together individuals representing many organizations and communities in and around New Orleans.

The Gillespie Memorial Community Breakfast affords roundtable discussion, event coordination and educational programmingIt is held on the second Saturday of each month at the First Unitarian Universalist Churchand is hosted by the Church’s Social Justice Committee. Visit their Facebook page.

1st UU Church, 5212 So. Claiborne (corner Jefferson Ave.) in Uptown New Orleans 70115

First UU has had a long tradition of progressive and social justice advocacy and activism, a tradition which the Breakfast hopes to help facilitate and preserve.

The Breakfast usually begins at 9:30 AM with a roundtable discussion from 10 until 11, followed by a keynote speaker or speakers from 11 until noon. More than 200 people have been featured speakers representing the broadest cultural and ethnic diversity of any such forum in the city.

The Community Breakfast honors the late co-founders Jack and Millie Gillespie, Tulane University educators and progressive social justice advocates.

We have a Breakfast Committee (see current list below) which makes decisions relative to which topic is under consideration for our keynote presentation, and helps facilitate each meeting. Our long standing co-conveners, Kit Senter and Brad Ott, made sure the Breakfast withstood the ravages of time and circumstance, including Hurricane Katrina. 

We welcome anyone who is interested in participating with us on  our Committee, so please get in touch HERE if you'd like to be a part of our team. 

Our current members include:

Beth Butler
Chris Day
Ben Gordon
Ilea Jones
Wendy King
Brad Ott
Randy Poindexter (honorary member)
Kit Senter
Alice Soliman
Harvey Stern
Robert Desmarais Sullivan
Paul Troyano

Please note: 
Opinions expressed during the forum do not necessarily represent the views of its participants, and the Community Breakfast does not endorse or represent any such opinions. We encourage any and all proponents of positive social agendas to attend and participate in our monthly discussions. 


Videos from Friends


News/Blog Roll: